EPFO Latest Updates 2026

Last updated: August 2026  |  By Om Prakash  |  19 updates covered

2026 is the biggest year for EPFO rule changes since 1952. The Employees' Provident Funds Scheme, 2026 — notified in the Gazette of India on 29 June 2026 — replaces the original 1952 framework under the Code on Social Security, 2020. This page now covers 19 major changes: new withdrawal rules, EPFO 3.0, digital nominations, EDLI nominee benefits, the new Centralized Pension Payment System, dormant account alerts, employer compliance obligations, the live ELI Scheme (₹15,000 incentive for first-time employees), the new 3-year first-time homebuyer withdrawal rule, and more — explained in plain language.

What's on this page

  1. New EPF Scheme 2026 — Gazette Notification
  2. Withdrawal Categories Simplified: 13 → 3
  3. 100% Withdrawal with 25% Floor & Frequency Caps
  4. Unemployment Full Withdrawal Extended to 12 Months
  5. 12-Month Membership Rule for Education & Marriage
  6. Auto-Settlement ₹5 Lakh + 72-Hour KYC Target
  7. EPFO 3.0 — UPI & ATM Withdrawals
  8. Digital Nominations Mandatory
  9. EDLI 2026 — Nominee Assurance Benefit ₹50K–₹1 Lakh
  10. Centralized Pension Payment System (CPPS)
  11. Cancelled Cheque No Longer Required
  12. Dormant Account Alerts — 3-Year Inactivity Rule
  13. EPS 2026 — 20-Day Settlement & 12% Penal Interest
  14. Employer Compliance — 15-Day Filing Deadline
  15. Tighter Rules for Exempted PF Trusts
  16. EPF Interest Rate: 8.25% for FY 2025-26
  17. ELI Scheme — ₹15,000 Incentive for First-Time Employees
  18. First-Time Homebuyer: 90% Withdrawal After 3 Years
  19. 50% Wage Rule & Principal Employer Liability
New Law

1. New EPF Scheme 2026 — Gazette Notification 29 June 2026

The Employees' Provident Funds Scheme, 2026 was published in the Gazette of India (Extraordinary) on 29 June 2026, replacing the Employees' Provident Funds Scheme, 1952. The legal basis is the Code on Social Security, 2020 — a consolidation of 29 labour laws into a single code. Alongside it, the Employees' Pension Scheme, 2026 (replacing EPS 1995) and the Employees' Deposit Linked Insurance Scheme, 2026 (replacing EDLI 1976) were also notified.

What changed

What did NOT change

Bottom line: For active members, this is a backend legal overhaul. Your account, balance, and UAN carry forward as-is. The practical difference is in withdrawal rules, claim timelines, and digital compliance obligations.
Rule Change

2. Withdrawal Categories Simplified: 13 → 3 Effective 2026

Under the old 1952 scheme, EPF advances were divided into 13 separate purpose heads — each with different eligibility criteria, waiting periods, and percentage limits. The 2026 scheme consolidates these into three broad heads:

New HeadCoversKey Examples
Essential NeedsPersonal & family welfareMedical treatment, higher education, marriage (self / children / siblings)
Housing NeedsProperty-related purposesPurchase or construction of a house, housing loan repayment, repair / renovation
Special CircumstancesEvents that disrupt regular employmentUnemployment (partial advance after 1 month), pre-retirement withdrawal (at 57+), natural calamity, physical disability

Why this matters

Rule Change

3. 100% Withdrawal with 25% Floor & Frequency Caps Effective 2026

The 2026 scheme introduces a dual rule that gives more flexibility while protecting the retirement corpus:

Withdrawal frequency limits (new)

PurposeMax % AllowedFrequency Limit
Medical treatment100% of eligible balance (effectively 75% of total)No specified limit
Higher education50% of member's own shareUp to 10 times during membership
Marriage100% of eligible balanceUp to 5 times during membership
Housing (purchase/construction/loan repayment)75% of total fundsUp to 5 times during membership
Housing repair/renovationSubject to salary multiplesUp to 5 times during membership
Example: If your total accumulated contributions are ₹4,00,000, a minimum of ₹1,00,000 must stay in the account at all times. You can withdraw the remaining ₹3,00,000 across permitted advances — subject to the purpose-wise frequency caps above.

Important clarification

Rule Change

4. Unemployment Full Withdrawal Extended to 12 Months Effective 2026

The 2026 scheme changes the timeline for EPF withdrawal during unemployment:

Withdrawal TypeOld RuleNew Rule (2026)
Partial advance (up to 75%)After 1 month of unemploymentAfter 1 month of unemployment (unchanged)
Full settlement (100%)After 2 months of unemploymentAfter 12 months of unemployment

Why the change

Practical advice: If you are unemployed, claim the 75% partial advance after 1 month to cover living expenses. Avoid full settlement unless you have been without employment for over 12 months — the remaining 25%+ continues earning 8.25% interest in the account.
Rule Change

5. 12-Month Membership Rule for Education & Marriage Effective 2026

Previously, members needed a minimum of 7 years of service to claim an EPF advance for higher education or marriage. The 2026 scheme lowers this to 12 months of membership.

PurposeOld Minimum ServiceNew Minimum MembershipTimes Allowed
Higher Education (self/children)7 years12 monthsUp to 10 times during membership
Marriage (self/children/siblings)7 years12 monthsUp to 5 times during membership

Who benefits

Note: The withdrawal amount for education is still capped at 50% of the member's own share (employee contributions only). The new rule only changes the waiting period, not the percentage limit.
System Upgrade

6. Auto-Settlement ₹5 Lakh + 72-Hour Target for KYC-Verified Claims 2026

EPFO has made two connected improvements to claim processing speed:

Auto-settlement limit raised from ₹1 lakh to ₹5 lakh

72-hour settlement for fully KYC-verified members

Key condition: Both improvements only work if your KYC is fully updated and verified. Incomplete KYC drops the claim into manual processing regardless of the amount. Check your KYC status at the Unified Member Portal under Manage → KYC.
New Feature

7. EPFO 3.0 — UPI & ATM Withdrawals Rollout Underway

EPFO 3.0 is the next-generation service delivery model approved by the Central Board of Trustees (CBT). It introduces two entirely new withdrawal methods that bypass the current portal-based claim process:

UPI-based PF withdrawal

PF-linked ATM card

Rollout status & requirements

Fraud warning: EPFO never calls members to process EPFO 3.0 withdrawals. Do not share your UAN, OTP, or Aadhaar details with anyone claiming to offer EPFO 3.0 assistance.
Digital Mandate

8. Digital Nominations Mandatory Effective 2026

The EPF Scheme 2026 requires all nominations to be filed digitally through the EPFO member portal, replacing older paper-based nomination forms. This applies to EPF, EPS, and EDLI nominations.

What changed

How to file or update your e-nomination

Why this matters: Without a valid e-nomination on record, your family may face delays or legal hurdles to claim your EPF balance, EPS pension, and EDLI insurance benefit in case of your death. Completing this takes under 5 minutes online.
EDLI Change

9. EDLI Scheme 2026 — Nominee Assurance Benefit ₹50,000–₹1 Lakh Effective 2026

The new Employees' Deposit Linked Insurance Scheme, 2026 (replacing EDLI 1976) introduces a separate assurance benefit for nominees of deceased members, in addition to the existing maximum ₹7 lakh insurance benefit.

Existing EDLI insurance benefit (unchanged)

New: Assurance benefit (EDLI 2026)

Combined coverage: A deceased member's nominee may now be entitled to both the EDLI insurance benefit (up to ₹7 lakh) and the new assurance benefit (₹50,000–₹1 lakh). Ensure your e-nomination is up to date so the right person receives both.

How to claim EDLI benefits

EPS Upgrade

10. Centralized Pension Payment System (CPPS) Active from January 2025

The Centralized Pension Payment System (CPPS) allows EPS pensioners to receive their monthly pension in any bank across India — eliminating the need to transfer pension payment orders (PPOs) when switching banks or relocating.

What changed

Who benefits

Action required: Ensure your bank account linked to your UAN/PPO is active and NPCI-verified. If you want to change your pension bank, update it under Manage → Bank Details on the EPFO member portal.
Digital Mandate

11. Cancelled Cheque No Longer Required for Claims Effective 2026

EPFO has removed the requirement to submit a bank passbook copy or cancelled cheque for claim processing, provided the member's bank account meets the new digital verification standard.

New condition

Impact

How to check/link your bank account to NPCI

Member Protection

12. Dormant Account Alerts — 3-Year Inactivity Rule Effective 2026

EPFO's systems now proactively monitor member accounts for inactivity and trigger alerts to prevent unclaimed balances.

How it works

Who this affects

Action: If you have an old EPF account from a previous employer, transfer it to your current employer's PF account using Form 13 online. If you've left employment, file a withdrawal claim. Use the EPFO's "Inoperative Helpdesk" at the Unified Member Portal to trace old accounts.
EPS Change

13. EPS 2026 — 20-Day Settlement & 12% Penal Interest on Delays Effective 2026

The Employees' Pension Scheme, 2026 (replacing EPS 1995) introduces time-bound obligations on EPFO for pension claim settlement:

20-day claim settlement mandate

12% annual interest on unjustified delays

36-month EPS waiting period

Contribution rates unchanged: Employer contributes 8.33% of Basic + DA (capped at ₹15,000/month) to EPS. Member does not directly contribute to EPS. Central Government contributes a small additional share.
Employer Rule

14. Employer Compliance — 15-Day Filing Deadline Effective 2026

The EPF Scheme 2026 introduces new compliance obligations for employers, particularly around submission timelines and reporting requirements.

Key employer obligations

Consequences of non-compliance

For employees: If your employer is not depositing your EPF contributions on time or filing ECR correctly, you can raise a complaint via EPFiGMS. Your EPF passbook will show contribution credits — a gap in monthly entries is a red flag.
Trust Governance

15. Tighter Rules for Exempted PF Trusts Effective 2026

Some large companies manage their own provident fund trusts — known as exempted establishments — instead of depositing contributions directly with EPFO. The EPF Scheme 2026 introduces a more detailed governance framework for these trusts.

What changed

Who is affected

How to check: If you are unsure whether your employer has an exempted trust or deposits directly with EPFO, check your UAN passbook. If contributions do not appear in the standard EPFO passbook, your employer likely has an exempted trust — ask your HR department for the trust's annual statement.
Interest Rate

16. EPF Interest Rate: 8.25% for FY 2025-26 Unchanged

The Central Board of Trustees (CBT) has retained the EPF interest rate at 8.25% per annum for the financial year 2025-26 — the third consecutive year at this rate.

Historical EPF interest rates

Financial YearEPF Interest Rate
2025-268.25%
2024-258.25%
2023-248.25%
2022-238.15%
2021-228.10%
2020-218.50%
2019-208.50%

Key points about EPF interest

Comparison: At 8.25% p.a., EPF remains one of the highest guaranteed-return, tax-efficient instruments for salaried employees — ahead of PPF (7.1%), NSC (7.7%), and most bank fixed deposits.
New Scheme

17. ELI Scheme — ₹15,000 Incentive for First-Time Employees Active Aug 2025 – Jul 2027

The Employment Linked Incentive (ELI) Scheme — also known as PM Viksit Bharat Rozgar Yojana (PM-VBRY) — was approved by the Union Cabinet on 1 July 2025 and came into effect on 1 August 2025. It covers jobs created between 1 August 2025 and 31 July 2027 and provides financial incentives to both first-time employees and employers expanding their workforce.

Part A — First-Time Employees

Part B — Employers

How to receive the Part A benefit

Who is NOT eligible (Part A): If you already have or previously had an EPF account (even with a former employer), you are not a "first-time" enrollee and do not qualify for the ₹15,000 incentive. Also not applicable if your job was created before 1 August 2025 or after 31 July 2027.
Rule Change

18. First-Time Homebuyer: 90% EPF Withdrawal After 3 Years 2026 Amendment — Para 68-BD

A 2026 amendment to the EPF Scheme introduced Para 68-BD, specifically for first-time homebuyers. Eligible members can now withdraw up to 90% of their total EPF corpus after only 3 years of membership — down from the earlier 5-year requirement under the standard housing advance.

Two housing withdrawal routes compared

RouteParaMin. ServiceMax WithdrawalFrequency
First-Time Homebuyer68-BD3 years90% of EPF corpusOnce only (lifetime)
Standard Housing Advance68-B5 years36 months' salary or 90% of balanceUp to 5 times
Housing Loan Repayment68-BB3–10 years90% of balance or outstanding loanMultiple

Conditions for Para 68-BD

Who benefits most: Young professionals who join EPFO in their 20s and want to make a down payment on their first home within 3–5 years. Previously this required 5 years of service. Standard housing advance (Para 68-B, 5-year rule) remains available for those who don't qualify as first-time buyers or want to use the facility more than once.
New Provision

19. 50% Wage Rule & Principal Employer Liability for Contractors Code on Social Security, 2020

Two important provisions under the Code on Social Security, 2020 — the legal foundation of EPF Scheme 2026 — that directly affect how contributions are calculated and how contract workers are protected.

50% Wage Rule

Example: If your CTC is ₹50,000/month and your employer was paying basic ₹10,000 + allowances ₹40,000, the 50% rule requires basic pay to be at least ₹25,000 — increasing your EPF contribution from ₹1,200/month (12% of ₹10K) to ₹3,000/month (12% of ₹25K). Your take-home pay decreases slightly, but your EPF corpus grows significantly faster.

Principal Employer Liability for Contract Workers

For contract workers: If your EPF has not been deposited by your contractor, you can now raise a complaint against the principal employer directly through EPFiGMS. The principal employer cannot disclaim responsibility by pointing to the contractor.

Quick Summary of All 2026 Changes

ChangeBeforeAfter (2026)
Governing schemeEPF & MP Act, 1952Code on Social Security, 2020
Withdrawal heads13 separate purposes3 heads (Essential, Housing, Special)
Max withdrawal50–90% (purpose-dependent)Up to 100% (min 25% retained)
Withdrawal frequency — educationNot specifiedMax 10 times during membership
Withdrawal frequency — marriage/housingNot specifiedMax 5 times during membership
Unemployment full settlementAfter 2 monthsAfter 12 months
Education/marriage waiting period7 years of service12 months of membership
Auto-settlement limit₹1 lakh₹5 lakh
KYC-verified claim targetNo mandated timeline72 hours (Form 19, 10C, 31)
Withdrawal channelsPortal onlyPortal + UPI + ATM (EPFO 3.0, rolling out)
NominationsPaper-based allowedDigital (e-nomination) mandatory
EDLI nominee benefitUp to ₹7 lakh (insurance)₹7 lakh insurance + ₹50K–₹1L assurance benefit
EPS pension bankFixed to registered bank/branchAny bank in India (CPPS)
Cancelled cheque for claimsRequiredNot required if NPCI-verified
Dormant account actionNo proactive alertsAlerts at 3 years; unclaimed pool at 4 years
EPS claim settlementNo mandated timeline20 days (12% interest on delay)
Employer filing deadlineVaried15 days from event
EPF interest rate (FY 2025-26)8.25%8.25% (unchanged)
ELI Scheme — first-time employee incentiveNot availableUp to ₹15,000 in 2 installments (Aug 2025–Jul 2027)
First-time homebuyer housing withdrawal5 years service required3 years service (Para 68-BD, one-time, 90% of corpus)
Basic pay as % of CTCNo minimum floorMin 50% of total remuneration must be basic wages + DA
Contractor EPF non-paymentContractor's liability onlyPrincipal employer now ultimately liable
Author Image
Om Prakash
I am an EPFO finance expert with extensive experience in employee provident fund rules, pension schemes, and government-backed savings programs. I specialize in simplifying complex EPFO processes, helping users understand withdrawals, balance checks, KYC updates, and compliance with ease.